ASM Online Member Community

Presentation: Preparing an Effective ASM Award Nomination

  • 1.  Presentation: Preparing an Effective ASM Award Nomination

    Posted 11-05-2020 13:32
    Edited by Carrie Hawk 11-05-2020 13:40

    TITLE: Preparing an Effective ASM Award Nomination

    DATE: ASM December 1, 2020 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EDT



    • Prof. Timothy Rupert, Chair of the Awards Policy Committee (University of California, Irvine)
    • Dr. Elizabeth Hoffman, FASM, Vice Chair of the Awards Policy Committee (Savannah River National Laboratory)
    • Christine Hoover, Administrator, ASM Awards (ASM International) 


    Do you want to nominate a colleague for their outstanding contributions to the materials science and engineering community? This webinar will provide an overview of ASM Awards and how to prepare an effective nomination.

    In this webinar, attendees will learn:

    • Brief ASM Awards Overview – Nomination Links and Resources,
    • Strategies for Preparing a Successful Nomination:
    • Getting started
    • How to prepare a nomination
    • How to write a letter of support
    • FAQ
    • Nomination review process, approval, communications
    • Nomination deadlines and submissions
    • Q&A

    Timothy Rupert:

    Prof. Tim Rupert is an Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of California, Irvine, with a joint appointment in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. He received a B.S./M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Johns Hopkins University in 2007 and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from MIT in 2011. Prof. Rupert's research focuses on uncovering new structure-property relationships in nanomaterials for structural and energy applications, as well as increasing the reliability and lifetime of these materials. To achieve their research goals, his lab uses a combination of complementary computational and experimental techniques, continually working to push the limitations of each. In recent years, Prof. Rupert has received an NSF CAREER Award, a DOE Early Career Research Program Award, an ARO Young Investigator Program Award, a Hellman Fellowship, the ASM International Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers, and the AIME Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award. He serves on the editorial boards of Materials Science and Engineering A, Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A, and Scientific Reports.

    Elizabeth Hoffman


    Dr. Elizabeth Hoffman is the Director of Innovation and University Engagement at the Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL), a U.S. Department of Energy multi-program national laboratory specializing in environmental remediation, nuclear materials processing, nuclear detection and materials characterization. Dr. Hoffman is responsible for SRNL's Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program, Postdoctoral Researcher Program, and University Engagement Program. All three innovative programs advance the state of science through collaboration and partnership. 

    In 2006, Dr. Hoffman joined SRNL as a researcher working on degradation of materials in extreme environments. Her research spanned a range of material systems and processes, including metallic whisker growth, nuclear waste corrosion control programs, accelerated aging of elastomeric seals and alternative materials for accident tolerant nuclear fuel applications.

    Dr. Hoffman received her Ph.D. and B.S. in materials science and engineering in 2006 and 2002 respectively from Drexel University, Department of Materials Science and Engineering. She has been active in ASM International since graduate school, serving in both the Savannah River and Philadelphia "Liberty Bell" Chapters, as well as several national committees. Dr. Hoffman has been recognized as a Fellow of ASM International, as well as an ASM Silver Medal awardee. In addition to ASM International, Dr. Hoffman is active in the American Ceramics Society (ACerS).


    Christine Hoover


    Christine Hoover is administrator, ASM Awards, at ASM International in Materials Park, Ohio.

    In her role, as part of the ASM Executive Office, she processes nominations, sets up award selection committees, and administers the award selection meetings. She works closely with the Awards Policy Committee and ASM Board of Trustees to obtain approval of nominees. She also coordinates the logistics for awardees attending the Annual Awards Banquet where they receive their awards.

    Carrie Hawk
    ASM International
    Community Engagement Specialist